dvla read up

Ollie2020

As a newbie I decided to someone digging on classification and I just admit the DVLA's guidance on what they accept as a motor home is a bit stupid!

One of the silliest requirements IMO:
  • motor caravan-style graphics on both sides of the vehicle

DVLA will only consider changing the body type to motor caravan if the body type shown on your V5C registration certificate (log book) is currently one of the following:
  • ambulance
  • box van
  • goods
  • insulated van
  • light goods
  • light van
  • livestock carrier
  • Luton van
  • minibus
  • MPV (multi-purpose vehicle)
  • panel van
  • specially fitted van
  • special mobile unit
  • van with side windows
This list describes the external features which are commonly seen in motor caravans, and it is intended to provide guidance on what DVLA expects to see when considering your application:
  • 2 or more windows on at least one side of the main body (this does not include windows on the driver or passenger doors) to provide a reasonable amount of daylight into the living accommodation
  • a separate door which provides access to the living accommodation of the vehicle (this excludes the driver and passenger doors); a window on this door counts as a separate window on the main body
  • motor caravan-style graphics on both sides of the vehicle
  • an awning bar attached to either side of the vehicle
  • a high-top roof (this does not include a pop-top elevating roof)
DVLA will need photographic evidence of the completed conversion.
Motor caravan internal features
Motor caravan means a special purpose M category vehicle constructed to include living accommodation which contains at least the following internal equipment:
  • seats and a table
  • sleeping accommodation which may be converted from the seats
  • cooking facilities
  • storage facilities
This equipment must be rigidly fixed to the living compartment; however, the table may be designed to be easily removable.